Jordan M. Phillips Endowment

Established in 2005 and named for the founder and inaugural President of the AAGL, this endowment provides funding for the speaker of the AAGL Global Congress Keynote Address. Honoring the visionary, perceptive leadership of Dr. Phillips, the keynote address is a defining moment at the opening session of each year’s Congress, typically highlighting topics pertaining to women’s health around the world.

Jay Cooper Endowment

Established in 2004 and named for the 26th President of the AAGL, this endowment provides an award of $1,000 for the best paper on minimally invasive gynecology along with an invitation to present at the AAGL and ASRM annual meetings. Dr. Cooper was renowned for his clarity of vision and gift for communication. This award is a tribute to his passion for excellence in women’s healthcare, both in research and in surgical education.

John F. Steege Mentorship Endowment

Established in 2015, this endowment recognizes outstanding AAGL members who have provided at least ten years of support and mentorship to future generations of minimally invasive gynecologic surgeons. Dr. Steege famously created one of the AAGL’s earliest Fellowships with the objective of training academicians; many of his original fellows have remained in academic positions with several going on to establish their own fellowship programs. This endowment honors that tradition of education and is supported by an educational grant from CooperSurgical.

Robert B. Hunt Endowment

Established in 2004 to honor Dr. Hunt, the founding Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the AAGL (now called the Journal of Minimally Invasive Gynecology or JMIG), this endowment provides an annual award for the Best Abstract Published in JMIG. Dr. Hunt, who was President of both the AAGL and the Foundation of the AAGL, is best remembered for creating an esteemed academic journal which has educated and informed physicians worldwide for more than a quarter century and is still going strong.