Foundation of the AAGL
Noteworthy and Signature Award Winners

2021 Noteworthy Award Winners

The Foundation of the AAGL Noteworthy Awards recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to empowering progress in minimally invasive gynecologic surgery through their innovation, leadership, and mentorship. The winners of these prestigious awards were chosen by nomination and voted on by an independent award committee.

Leila V. Adamyan MD, PhD
Innovation in Surgery and Reproductive Medicine Awards

These award winners represent five decades of
innovative surgeons instrumental in the
advancement of minimally invasive gynecologic surgery.

Jacques E. Hamou, MD
IRCAD, France

Phillippe Koninckx, MD, PhD
Gruppo Italo Belga, Leuven
Belgium & Rome Italy
University of Oxford, Oxford United Kingdom
Università Cattolica del Sacro
Cuore Italy & Russia

Camran Nezhat, MD, FACOG, FACS
Founder, Worldwide EndoMarch
Founder, Camran Nezhat Institute

Honorary Medical Director Emeritus Endometriosis Foundation of America, USA

Arnaud Wattiez, MD
Latifa Hospital, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
IRCAD, Strasbourg, France
University of Strasbourg, France

Harrith M. Hasson, MD
Emerging Countries Award 

For empowering progress in MIGS within his community.

Eduardo Luna Ramírez, MD
Hospital Militar de Especialidades
de la Mujer y Neonatología, Mexico

Barbara S. Levy, MD, FACOG, FACS
AchieveHER Award

For outstanding leadership and mentoring for five or more years.

Danielle E. Luciano, MD
University of Connecticut
School of Medicine, USA

Franklin D. Loffer, MD, FACOG
Exceptional Resident Award

For exceptional leadership and commitment to MIGS

Danielle Ikoma, MD
University of Iowa
Hospitals and Clinics, USA

John F. Steege, MD
Mentorship Award

For over ten years of outstanding mentorship.

Marcello Ceccaroni, MD, PhD
IRCCS Sacro Cuore Don
Calabria Hospital, Italy

2021 Signature Award Winners

Signature Awards are given for the “best of the best”
of the top scoring manuscripts, and video, presented
to AAGL award committees.

Jay M. Cooper, MD Award

Best Paper on MIGS by a Fellow

Shabnam Gupta, MD
Division of Minimally Invasive
Gynecologic Surgery
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Boston, MA

Jerome J. Hoffman, MD Award

Best Paper by a Fellow

Sarah Simko, MD
Adventist Health White Memorial
Los Angeles, CA

Robert B. Hunt, MD Award

Best Paper Published in JMIG
September 2020 to August 2021

Oshri Barel, MD, MHA, FRANZCOG
Ben Gurion University of the Negev
Be’er Sheva, Israel

Jordan M. Phillips, MD Award

Best Research Paper on MIGS

Richard Cockrum, MD
Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of Chicago Medicine
Chicago, IL

Golden Hysteroscope Award

Best Surgical Video

Attilio Di Spiezio Sardo, MD, PhD
University of Naples Federico II
Naples, Italy

Golden Laparoscope Award

Best Paper on Hysteroscopy

Eung-Mi Lee, MD, MBA
Obstetrics, Gynecology and
Reproductive Sciences
Magee Womens Hospital
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, PA


Best Research in Education and
Innovative Ideas in Teaching

 Jacqueline Wong, MD
Obstetrics and Gynecology
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Obstetrics and Gynecology
Oregon Health and Science University
Portland, OR

Daniel F. Kott, MD Award

Best Paper on New Instrumentation or Technology

Elizabeth GW Braxton, MD
Obstetrics and Gynecology
Women’s Center for Pelvic Health
Atrium Health
Charlotte, NC

Kurt K.S. Semm, MD Award

Best Paper on Laparoscopic Surgeries

Yossi Tzur, MD
Lis Maternity Hospital
Sourasky Medical Center
Sackler Faculty of Medicine
Tel Aviv University
Tel Aviv, Israel