MedStar NCAPS Diversity and Inclusion in MIGS Award

About the Award

Located in beautiful, vibrant Washington, D.C., the internationally recognized faculty of the National Center for Advanced Pelvic Surgery (NCAPS) at MedStar Health train physicians with a comprehensive blend of clinical, surgical, and academic excellence in minimally invasive gynecology. Our team of fellowship-trained minimally invasive gynecologists, urogynecologists, urologists, and nurse practitioners at NCAPS are the most experienced in the Washington/Baltimore region. We focus on the latest minimally invasive vaginal, laparoscopic, and robot-assisted surgeries to improve the patient experience, reduce pain, and allow for a faster recovery.

This Foundation Award recognizes the top scoring manuscript of research on diversity and inclusion in MIGS and is supported through a generous donation received by MedStar NCAPS.

How to Nominate

The MedStar NCAPS Diversity and Inclusion in MIGS Award Application is now closed.

Award Eligibility

The winner of this award will be the first author who submits the highest scoring manuscript related specifically to research on diversity and inclusion in MIGS and who meets the following requirements:

  • Must be a member in good standing with the AAGL.
  • NEW! Manuscripts and abstracts submitted to JMIG and/or presented during AAGL Global Congress are eligible for the Medstar NCAPS Award.
  • Must be the first author of eligible submission.
  • This award is open to physicians at every level.
  • The first author/award winner can only win one Foundation Award.
  • Manuscripts and abstracts derived from AAGL supported research or funding are not eligible.
  • Manuscripts that have already been published are not eligible.
  • The award winner will submit their winning manuscript for publication.
  • Board Members from an AAGL or FAAGL Board are not eligible for nomination during their active status on the board.
  • The award winner must attend the AAGL 52nd Global Congress in Nashville, Tennessee, USA.

Required Documents for Nominations

All applications must include the following documents:

  • Completed award application.
  • Completed manuscript that meets award eligibility.
  • Curriculum vitae (CV)

Award Notification

The Foundation of the AAGL Board will notify the award recipient and all applicants.

Award Winnings

The winner of this prestigious award will receive:

  • Registration for the 2023 AAGL Global Congress in Nashville.
  • Travel stipend to attend AAGL Global Congress in Nashville.
  • Recognition on the Foundation website.
  • Recognition in Foundation promotional materials.
  • Recognition in the Global Congress Final Program.
  • Recognition on stage and presentation of a commemorative plaque at the AAGL’s Global Congress in Nashville.

Contact Us

If you have questions, contact 


Patricia Giglio Ayers, MD

Rebecca J. Schneyer, MD