John F. Steege, MD
Mentorship Award

About the Award

Dr. John F. Steege famously pioneered one of the earliest Fellowship Programs with the objective of training academicians. Many of his original fellows have remained in academic positions with several going on to establish their own fellowship programs. Dr. Steege was a leader in the evaluation and treatment of chronic pelvic pain, co-authored the first comprehensive text on chronic pelvic pain, and was an early developer of laparoscopic pain mapping under conscious sedation.

The John F. Steege, MD Mentorship Award, established in 2015, recognizes outstanding AAGL members. This award is supported by an educational grant from CooperSurgical.

How to Nominate

The John F. Steege, MD Mentorship Award Application is now closed.

Award Eligibility

The nominee must demonstrate significant contributions as a mentor to others by meeting the following requirements:

  • Provided ten plus years of support and mentorship to future generations of MIG surgeons.
  • Must be a member of the AAGL, Practicing Physician or Retired Physician
  • Board Members from an AAGL or FAAGL Board are not eligible for nomination during their active status on the board.
  • If selected, the winner will accept the award in-person at AAGL’s 52nd Global Congress in Nashville, Tennessee, USA.

Required Documents for Nominations

All nominations must include the following documents:

  • Completion of the award application outlining how the nominee has significantly contributed to the development of MIGS surgeons through ten or more years of mentorship.
  • A current curriculum vitae (CV) of the nominee.

Award Notification

The Foundation of the AAGL Board will notify the award recipient, nominees and nominators.

Award Winnings:

The winner of this prestigious award will receive:

  • 2023 AAGL Congress Registration
  • Travel Stipend
  • Recognition on the Foundation website.
  • Recognition in Foundation promotional materials.
  • Recognition in the Global Congress Final Program.
  • Recognition on stage and presentation of a crystal flame commemorative statue at the AAGL’s 52nd Global Congress in Nashville, Tennesse.

Contact Us

If you have questions, contact


2023 – Arnaud Wattiez, MD
2022 – Resad Paya Pasic, MD, PhD
2021 – Marcello Ceccaroni, MD, PhD
2020 – Keith B. Isaacson, MD
2019 – Javier F. Magrina, MD
2018 – Charles E. Miller, MD, FACOG
2017 – Michael C. Pitter, MD
2016 – Ted L. Anderson, MD, PhD, FACOG, FACS
2015 – John F. Steege, MD