Harrith M. Hasson, MD
Physician from an Emerging Country Award

About the Award

Dr. Hasson was a true visionary, dedicated physician, and prolific inventor of surgical and educational devices and techniques. His legacy endures with the cannula and open laparoscopy techniques that bear his name. Dr. Hasson was AAGL’s 19th president and a passionate leader and proponent of lifelong learning for surgical gynecologists.

How to Nominate

The Harrith Hasson, MD, Physician from an Emerging Country Scholarship and Award Application is now closed.

Award Eligibility

The nominee must meet the following requirements:

  • Physician from a country that has a developing economy.
  • Must be a member of the AAGL and a Practicing Physician
  • Board Members from an AAGL or FAAGL Board are not eligible for nomination during their active status on the board.

Required Documents for Nominations

All nominations must include the following documents:

  • Completion of the award application outlining the nominee’s education and training; the current status of healthcare for women, including MIGS, in their country; the nominee’s goals for the development of MIGS in their country, and why they want to attend the AAGL Global Congress.
  • A current curriculum vitae (CV) of the nominee.
  • Self-nominations are acceptable and must include a letter of reference.

Award Notification

The Foundation of the AAGL Board will notify the award recipient, applicants and nominators.

Award Winnings

The winner of this prestigious award will receive:

  • Registration for the 52nd Global Congress in Nashville, Tennessee, USA.
  • Recognition on the Foundation website.
  • Recognition in Foundation promotional materials.
  • Recognition in the Global Congress Final Program and JMIG Abstract.
  • Recognition in-person at the AAGL’s 52nd Global Congress in Nashville, Tennesse.

Contact Us

If you have questions, contact foundation@aagl.org


Emmanuel Nzau Ngoma, MD, MPH, PhD

Maria Alejandra Brito Pérez, MD
Caracas, Venezuela

Eduardo Luna Ramírez, MD
Ciudad de México, México

Scholarships for registration to the 2020 Virtual Global Congress were provided to the following prior year recipients:

Steve Kyende Mutiso, BSc,MBChB, Mmed
Nairobi, Kenya, Africa

Francois Retief, MD
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa

Chikondi Chiweza, MBBS (MW)
Lilongew, Malawi, Africa

Tekleselassie Gebreyohannes, MD
Ethiopia, Africa 

Steve Kyende Mutiso, BSc,MBChB, Mmed
Nairobi, Kenya 

Chikondi Chiweza, MD
Lilongew, Malawi

Herbert Kayiga, MD
Kampala, Uganda

Francois Retief, MD
Johannesburg, South Africa