About the Award

A passionate leader and advocate, Franklin D. Loffer, MD, FACOG has worked diligently to develop and guide the organizational and medical policies of the AAGL. With a thoughtful approach and exceptional commitment, he has given over 20 years of service to the AAGL in the roles of Board President, AAGL Medical Director and Executive Vice-President (2000-2018) and Emeritus Medical Director of the Foundation of the AAGL. Dr. Loffer has been a mentor and champion to countless AAGL members and has made a tremendous impact on women’s health through his contributions to minimally invasive gynecologic surgery.

How to Nominate

To submit a nomination for the Franklin D. Loffer Award, please follow the link below. Nominations must be submitted by 12:00 pm, PST, Friday, July 16, 2021.

Award Eligibility

The nominee must demonstrate significant contributions as a Resident and meet the following requirements:

  • Selected as a “2021 Honorary AAGL Resident” by their CREOG Program Director.
  • Must be a member of the AAGL; Resident status.
  • Entering 4th year of Residency in July 2021.
  • If selected, the nominee will be required to attend AAGL’s 50th Annual Congress to accept the award in-person at the General Session AM Monday, November 15, 2021.

Required Documents for Nominations

All nominations must include the following documents:

  • Completion of the award application outlining how the nominee exemplifies Dr. Loffer’s leadership qualities and exceptional commitment to MIGS and the nominee’s goals for their future.
  • A current curriculum vitae (CV) of the nominee.
  • Self-nominations are acceptable and should include a letter of reference.

Award Notification

The Foundation of the AAGL Board will notify the award recipient and nominator no later than August 31, 2021.

Award Winnings

The winner of this prestigious award will receive:

  • Registration, Airfare (up to $400) and Hotel Accommodations (2 nights) for the 50th Global Congress in Austin, Texas.
  • Recognition on the Foundation website.
  • Recognition in Foundation promotional materials.
  • Recognition in the Global Congress Final Program.
  • Recognition on stage and presentation of a commemorative plaque at the AAGL’s 50th Global Congress, Monday, November 15, 2021 in Austin, Texas.

Contact Us

If you have questions, contact


2021 — TBD