Charles H. KOH, MD, FRCOG, FACOG, Excellence in Suturing Award

About the Award

The Koh World Suturing Championship was established in 2022 to encourage excellence in laparoscopic suturing and innovation and will be a yearly competition to award the “Koh World Suturing Champion Award” to the winning surgeon. The finest and most challenging aspect of surgery in the end is repair, reconstruction, or new construction – all of which require proficiency and excellence in suturing. Mechanical modalities have a limited scope and cannot replicate the complexities of ‘free hand’ suturing, which is virtually infallible in addressing all challenges, including those not yet conceptualized. This challenge was created to encourage the competitive spirit of laparoscopic surgeons so that they develop innovation and attain excellence in suturing for current and future procedures.

How to Apply

The Koh World Suturing Champion application will open in August 2023.

How to Win

The competition to claim the 2023 Koh World Suturing Champion title will take place as a live event in the Exhibit Hall at the 2023 AAGL Global Congress. Through simulation, the first Koh Challenge will task surgeons with accomplishing what is commonly performed in advanced endometriosis surgery including excision and repair of the ureter, bladder, and bowel disc resection. Occasionally a hysterectomy is part of the solution and vaginal repair becomes a needed task. Competitors will then be narrowed down into a semi-final, and then final round, to choose the winner.

Award Eligibility

The applicant must demonstrate significant suturing skill and meet the following requirements:

  • Must be able to perform:
    • Closure of disc excision of rectum continuously in 2 layers, using single 3/0 PDS suture on SH needle.
    • Closure of bladder (post endometriosis excision) in 2 layers, using single 3/0 PDS suture on SH needle.
    • Closure of post hysterectomy vaginal cuff in 2 layers with single 2/0 PDS suture on CT1 needle.
    • L or bilateral ureteral anastomosis with 4 interrupted sutures using 5/0 PDS
  • Must be a member of the AAGL and a Practicing Physician
  • Must be registered for the AAGL Global Congress
  • If selected to participate, the applicant will compete in the Koh Suturing Championship at the AAGL Global Congress in Nashville, Tennessee, USA.
  • If chosen as the winner of the Championship, the winner will accept the award in-person at AAGL’s Global Congress in Nashville, Tennessee, USA.

Required Documents

All applicants must include the following documents:

  • Completion of the award application.

Award Notification

The Foundation of the AAGL Board will notify applicants who has been selected to compete and will announce the championship winner.

Award Winnings

The winner of this prestigious award will receive:

  • Recognition on the Foundation of the AAGL website.
  • Recognition in Foundation of the AAGL promotional materials.
  • Recognition in the AAGL Global Congress Final Program.
  • Recognition on stage at the AAGL’s 52nd Global Congress in Nashville, Tennessee.

Contact Us

If you have questions, contact 

Suturing World Champions

Joseph Hudgens, MD